The Horror! A live reading

Hey look, I renovated! The main reason I redesigned the site (meaning, I got a new theme) was that I wanted links across the top for my bio, Bark and Lunge, and info about my copyediting side hustle. Hope you like the new look! In other news, the group of writers who collectively wrote twoContinue reading “The Horror! A live reading”

Exercising a Dog’s Mind

John Pilley uses old-school psychology to train his border collie in Chaser: Unlocking the Genius of the Dog Who Knows a Thousand Words, co-authored with Hilary Hinzmann. What a coincidence that the methods he uses, based on his experience as a professor of human psychology, look a lot like force-free dog training! With one exception: LikeContinue reading “Exercising a Dog’s Mind”

NaNoWoofMo

I had so much fun writing a chapter in Red Wheelbarrow Writers’ NaNoWriMo book, I signed up for another: NaNoWriMo for dog bloggers. Here are the first 10 parts: 1. Rocco 2. Bongo 3. Haley and Zaphod 4. Easy Rider 5. My Rotten Dogs 6. Sophie Doodle 7. Haiku by Ku 8. Oh My Shih Tzu 9. Sparhawk Scotties 10. Critter Alley Previously inContinue reading “NaNoWoofMo”

Could Isis have been a flying disc contender?

In the prologue for my book, Bark and Lunge, I describe Isis spinning and flipping while catching a soccer ball. She was partial to soccer balls, but reading Wallace: The Underdog Who Conquered a Sport, Saved a Marriage, and Championed Pit Bulls — One Flying Disc at a Time made me wonder if I couldContinue reading “Could Isis have been a flying disc contender?”

NaNoWriDa: Join the fun

Want to participate in National Novel Writing Month for exactly one day? Look no further and sign up for the Red Wheelbarrow Writers round robin. We have two novels going: one horror and one literary fiction. My current fiction project began as a NaNoWriMo effort in 2009. Sometime in 2011 or 2012, I did hitContinue reading “NaNoWriDa: Join the fun”

These things (pinch collars)? Never useful.

When you have a strong belief about something controversial, and you know you’re unlikely to change someone’s mind, do you keep quiet or speak your mind? During a visit to a dog rescue, I found myself on the other end of an elaborate defense of pinch collars. “A lot of trainers are starting to realizeContinue reading “These things (pinch collars)? Never useful.”

Separation anxiety (mine) and the canine oxytocin connection

While in Atlanta for BarkWorld, I missed my doggies like crazy. More than usual, probably because I was thinking about dogs and surrounded by dog-lovers all weekend. The highlight of the social “petworking” conference for me was meeting Victoria Stilwell. As a fan of her television show, I already knew that she is a championContinue reading “Separation anxiety (mine) and the canine oxytocin connection”

Writing in Community

I keep telling one of my coworkers how antisocial I am, but he doesn’t believe me. That’s because I interact with him mostly through online chat and the very occasional in-person meeting. When I do meet with him and the rest of my team, it’s a welcome respite from the relative isolation of my day-to-dayContinue reading “Writing in Community”

A thousand words at a time

I completed the first draft of my memoir in September and spent the succeeding months revising it. Honestly, I could revise the thing forever, so a few months ago I decided to set it aside while seeking an agent and editor to guide me on the next stage of revision. Nothing to report on thatContinue reading “A thousand words at a time”